It doesn't matter what your boss says. It doesn't matter what your job title is. And it doesn't matter what city you work in.
As of January 1, 2018, if you’re an hourly worker in Washington state, you get paid sick time.
And that's why we're reaching out today.
Can you answer a few quick questions to make sure your employer is following the new sick time law, and you and your co-workers are getting what you're entitled to?
Paid sick time has been the law since January 1st. Under the new law, all hourly workers in Washington get 1 hour of sick time for every 40 hours worked — about 6 days a year if you work full-time. And the law says you have a right to use your sick time if you're sick, for a medical appointment, or to care for a sick family member.
Now it's up to us to make sure that right is a reality in every workplace in our state. Take our sick time check-up so we can see how we're doing.